Morris E. Graham Interview

Tell us a little
about yourself and your background?
 

I have always loved to read. I am an avid reader and Amazon
reviewer, present ranking 107,262. I am married, father of four, from Central
Arkansas, USA. I have worked as a welder and later as a telecommunications
worker. I am nearing retirement age for day job, and when that day comes, I
hope to spend my days writing, reviewing, and editing.
Which writers
inspire you?
 

Tony
Hillerman, James Clavell, Alexander Dumas, James Lee
Burke, and others.
Have you written
any other novels in collaboration with other writers?

Not yet.
When did you
decide to become a writer? 

When it became
obvious while writing an eight page short story for my web site that I had not
exit strategy—and one book wasn’t going to be enough.
Do you write
full-time or part-time?
 

Part
time until I am able to retired from my day job. Then it will be full time,
writing and offering editing services to other authors.
Do
you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see where an idea takes
you?
 

Both. I see the beginning, work toward the ending I
have in mind, basically see where the book takes me to get to that end. I do
outline in a general sense, but only to keep my facts straight. My outline is
more to keep timings and events in their proper order. For instance, in book
two that I am working on in my trilogy, I established that the character had
church services on Wednesday night, Sunday day and night, and karate classes on
Tuesday and Thursday. I was reading through a two week stretch of this
character’s life on the post, and found that the events that should have been
occurring were not. I had to map out a two-week calendar and rewrite some
chapters.
Do you have a
strategy for finding reviewers? 

The best way is to print some copies and enter them
in the goodreads giveaway. I got five amazon reviews out of seven books I gave
away. I got some reviews by finding books which were reviewed on Amazon in my
genre, found some reviewers with publicly posted email addresses, and wrote
them a letter.
What are your
thoughts on good/bad reviews?
 

Good
reviews give you encouragement; bad reviews help you become better.
How can readers
discover more about you and you work?

My website is
updated now and again.
http://www.morrisegraham.com 
Catch
me on goodreads, I am a goodreads author and frequently check out the Support
Indie Authors forum
https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/154447-support-for-indie-authors.
Any Comments for
the Blog readers?

I am
also an editor, and offer a range of editing services for other authors. To
inquire, email me at
morris.graham@sbcglobal.net. My rates are very reasonable, and I am very
meticulous about my editing.
Any feedback for
me or the blog?

I
appreciate what you’re doing for the readers and the authors. Indie publishing
is an exploding industry. Many of the traditional publishing houses who relied
on the printed word are no more. The invention of the e-reader has changed the
landscape of the literary world. I am glad to be part of this exciting new
world of publishing.

Leave a Reply

