Jack Kearney Interview







Tell us a little about yourself and your background?

For most of my life I was a struggling
actor. I appeared on such shows as Mash, WKRP in Cincinnati, and General
Hospital. For a short time, I even taught an acting workshop. Today I am a
struggling acting coach in Northern California, but back in the mid­seventies I
was a recent graduate of the very prestigious American Academy of Dramatic Arts
where I was part of the first graduating class in Los Angeles. After that I
joined the ranks of the other sixty thousand would­be stars who acted in
showcase plays, occasionally going on professional auditions, and attending
weekly workshops. Waiting for that big break I had many survival jobs typical
of the actors of the ’70s and ’80s. But sales seemed to offer the only possible
way to make a living and contrary to popular belief, I discovered that a
salesperson is made not born. In fact, commissioned sales can be almost as
frustrating as breaking into show business. I am currently working out of my
home, on commission, for a newsletter publishing company. I have been married
twice. My first, which ended in divorce gave me my beautiful daughter Shannon.
I lost my second wife of ten years to cancer in 2012. Now 63, I currently
reside in Northern California with my Yorkie­Poo Toby.
Which
writers inspire you?

I am a bit old
school when it comes to writers. As an actor of course I have read my share of
plays so Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, and Arthur Miller were my favorites.
As for book authors I loved Philip Roth, Kurt Vonnegut, and of course Stephen
King. I loved “Carrie” and was hooked ever since. Most recently I have enjoyed
James Patterson. I read a lot of biographies as well.
Have you written any other novels in collaboration with other
writers? 

No
When
did you decide to become a writer?



As far as writers go, I don’t really consider myself a real writer in
the same terms as the aforementioned ones. I have written several TV and movie
treatments, a few short stories, some poetry, and the script that was the
inspiration for my novel. So to



answer your
question, I guess, you could say I get inspired now and then. So I’ll leave
it up to the
readers as to determine whether or not I’m a writer.
Do
you write full­time or part­time?

As stated,
when I get inspired
Do you work to an outline or plot or do you prefer just see
where an idea takes you?

I
first see it in my head and completely formulate the plot. Then I just let it
take me where it takes me.

Do
you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

I started Googling book reviewers, found a
list,
and
started emailing the ones that accept 

suspense/thriller fiction.


What
are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?

I
can’t speak to that, because so far, in the few weeks that I have been on
Amazon, I have only gotten three 5 star reviews. I suppose that professional
reviewers might find the fact that I wrote without the use of chapters, a turn
off. I’ll just have to wait.

How
can readers discover more about you and your work?

Right
now this may be the only way to learn about me, unless they watch syndicated
tv, and see me on my one episode of MASH.

Any
Comments for the Blog readers?

I am taking the time to do this and other
marketing ideas to promote my book. So all bloggers should know that at 63 this
is my first published book. I took a script that I had written back in the
early ‘80s out of the mothballs and wrote my first novel. I guarantee however,
that they have never read a story like this one.
As
a young actor I had an opportunity to help teach an acting workshop to a group
of inmates at the Federal prison in Lompoc Ca. It was an interesting experience
where I met some fascinating characters. Some of them were no different than
guys I had met at my local bar, while others, and let’s just say, I was glad
that there were guards stationed just outside the room.
A
few months later I had a frightful experience that made me think, what would
happen if you took an actor in the same situation that I had experienced, but
by a



twist of fate he ends up
back inside as an inmate. Where he has made some friends and unforgiving
enemies. That is my inspiration for INSIDE OUT. Can you name any other prison
drama where the protagonist is a non­criminal that gets thrown into a situation
where he already knows some of the inmates? It is a fictional account of what
happens to an “Everyman” that gets caught up in a system deliberately designed
to treat all felons the same. For those of you that prefer a moral, it is the
difference between justice in the eyes of the law, and true justice.
Any
feedback for me or the blog?

I have been searching for an honest review
because I feel I have a groundbreaking novel and I want a professional
assessment of my work. In researching your credentials I was very impressed. 

One of the first sites I learned about in my quest to market my book was
Goodreads, and to have a top Goodreads reviewer show an interest in my book
means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

