The Watchers Spotlight

The Watchers Series

In England, 1270 A.D., Auriella flees her village after being accused of witchcraft. Pursued by nightmarish creatures, she struggles to accept the truth about her humanity. Filled with fairies, dwarves, pixies, dragons, and monsters, Knight of Light is an enthralling tale that will capture the imaginations of readers young and old.

The Watchers Series has been described as Braveheart meets Supernatural. The mythology for the series is based on many theological texts from dozens of sects with correlating themes. Ancient writings include The Dead Sea Scrolls, The Traditional Apocrypha, The Pearl of Great Price, and The Kabbalah.

“The Watchers” are supernatural beings in human form whose duty it is to protect and guard mankind from the armies of darkness. Unfortunately, as the Book of Enoch mentions, some of these Watchers go bad. Although the mythology is based on these texts, Deirdra Eden’s The Watchers Series is written in a traditional fairytale style with a young girl’s discovery of incredible, but dangerous powers within herself, a cast of humorous side-kicks, a quest for greater self-discovery and purpose, and villains of epic proportions.

About the Author


“My goal in writing is to saturate my books with intrigue, mystery, romance, and plot twists that will keep my readers in suspense. I want to see fingerprints on the front and back covers where readers have gripped the novel with white knuckles! Aside from writing, I enjoy jousting in arenas, planning invasions, horseback riding through open meadows, swimming in the ocean, hiking up mountains, camping in cool shady woods, climbing trees barefoot, and going on adventures.”
-Deirdra Eden

Find Deirdra Eden and The Watchers Series online on AmazonDeirdra’s websiteFacebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Wattpad, and Pinterest.

Coming in 2016!

Knight of Light book excerpt
“Are you sure she’s a witch?” a villager asked. “She just saved three children.”
     “I’ll prove it.” The nobleman dragged me back to the smoldering cottage.
I fought uselessly to pry his fingers from my arms.
“Let go of me,” I demanded. “I’m human.”
     The nobleman leaned forward and whispered just loud enough for me to hear, “You’re no more human than I am, but you’re not a witch either. You, my lady, are something much more powerful.”
     He lifted my hands to his face and inhaled the scent of my wrists. His eyes glazed over, and he shivered sinisterly.
     I struggled frantically, unable to break away from his grasp. “You! You’re a Shadow Lord!” I tried to scream, but it came out as a quiet gasp.
     The creature pushed me closer to the fire and tried to force my hand onto a hot metal nail. “Go ahead, say it louder. No one is going to believe a young orphan girl. You are worthless to them. They will execute you as a witch and your blood will be mine.”
     Fear surged through my body and the instinct for survival took over. I kicked up the burning rubble at my feet and showered him with hot embers. He released his grip just long enough for me to twist free. I raced toward the edge of the village, sprinting over sharp rocks and twigs, ignoring the pain on my bare feet.
Heavy footfalls pounded behind me. I glanced over my shoulder. A group of men from the village chased after me, including the abomination who had disguised himself as a nobleman.
     I turned toward the haunting Forbidden Forest. Images of every forest monster and demon from the villagers’ stories flashed through my mind. I clenched my fists and forced myself to see past the hot, blinding tears brimming my eyes. I had no choice but to hide in the woods. They wouldn’t follow me there … at least, the humans wouldn’t. I prayed I would find a place to hide from the Shadow Lord as well.

Leave a Reply

